Skip to content

Trading Podcasts

November 29, 2011

I am a podcast addict.

Every week I listen to The News from Lake Wobegon, How to do Everything, Science Times, The Moth, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, Ted Talks, and This American Life. And the crazy part is, I still can’t get enough.

There are two reasons I love podcasts so much. One is that they are entertaining without being all-consuming. Unlike watching television or reading, I can listen to podcasts while cleaning the house or making dinner or knitting. Sometimes I even bribe myself into doing chores if  I have a new one downloaded. How to do Everything is only a 15-minute podcast, so I can usually finish most chores while I listen.

I also like podcasts because they keep me informed as well as inspired. The Science Times keeps my left brain sharp and The Moth for my right brain. My podcasts keep me entertained but they also make me think.

This week I am hoping to do a podcast swap. I’ll share my seven with you, if you share your favorite podcasts with me. (Although mine are pretty mainstream, so you’ve probably already heard of them anyways.) I like anything that’s funny or thought-provoking or informative or all three. And if you’ve got anything local, that would be really cool.

Here are mine:

Science Times: New York Times reporters take on a few headline science stories in a half hour show.

The Moth: Fifteen minute weekly podcast with a recording from one of their live shows. Stories are from famous and non-famous authors and storytellers.

This American Life: My favorite podcast. Each week they present a series of stories based on a theme in a one hour podcast. Hosted by Ira Glass.

How to do Everything: A fifteen minute weekly show based on answering listener’s questions. Funny and informative.

Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me: Weekly quiz show with questions from the week’s news. The contestants are comedians and listeners can call in to win the coveted prize: Carl Castles’ voice on their answering machine.

The News from Lake Wobegon: Garrison Keilor’s ongoing narrative of small-town life. A fifteen minute show each week.

Ted Talks: A fifteen minute podcast with thought-provoking presentations from the speakers at the Ted conferences.

Send me your favorite podcasts and I’ll give them a listen! Once I get another collection of good ones, I’ll post them for you all to check out.

Preview for Friday: The best winter beverages.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 12:06 pm

    Commonwealth Club of California is a great podcast as well. Their INFORUM series features topics that are geared towards people in their 20s and 30s. Start with the San Francisco Street Food update :)

  2. Hannah Long permalink
    November 29, 2011 10:25 pm

    Liz and I listen to Keith and the Girl, which follows Keith and Chemda (pronounced like ‘Hemda’ with a bit of phlegm on the ‘H’), who for much of the show were dating but have been broken up for a while now. It’s very funny, but also pretty raunchy. Sometimes they are kind of mean, which I don’t like, but a lot of the time they are very funny!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

