Skip to content

Tea and Beer Royale Gala Extraordinaire

October 21, 2011

Have you ever seen the video of the mating dance for the Superb Bird of paradise? The male birds do this ridiculous hopping dance, while flaring out their feathers around their face.

Whenever I watch the video (which is frequently) I always laugh at how earnestly those birds hop in hopes of tempting a female, but today I was thinking about how humans have equally silly ways of looking our best. I bet our dogs and cats laugh at us when they watch us put on tummy flattening underpants and bow ties.

The truth is that being fancy always feels a little bit silly. But sometimes looking good also feels right. I’m not sure what it is in my instinct that makes me feel prettier in uncomfortable shoes. I just know that it is fun and there’s no reason to resist my primal urge to wear lip gloss sometimes.

That’s why I’m planning the Tea & Beer Royale Gala Extraordinaire this winter. It’s an excuse to let out my inner Superb Bird while saying thank you to everyone who has helped make T&B great.

Our photo shoots and parties have been fun—but they’ve also involved me and Sam calling everyone the day of and telling them we need them to create and wear a crazy costume by 7 pm, so we can take ridiculous pictures of them. All those people in our photos are me and Sam’s friends, who we are so grateful to. If it wasn’t for them, Sam and I would just be two creeps taking tons of photos of ourselves and posting them on the internet.

To be honest, I could probably host a beer and video games party, and satisfy everyone just fine. Actually, most of the boys would probably prefer that. But I’m imagining something a bit more fantastic, something that takes some creativity to put together.

It’s my opinion that the most memorable memories are the ones that happen when you do something out of the ordinary. While beer and video games are nice, I want to give my friends something better: a fantastic night to remember.

So for all those who I have dressed up in a wild costume, or who have held a camera or prop while I made finishing touches, or who have given me an idea for a post: prepare yourself. This January, Sam and I will make you feel like a Superb Bird and at first and you’ll hate us for it. But trust us: the only way to have a good time is to do something a bit ridiculous.

And for those reading from far and wide–we promise to provide wild and wonderful photographs.

Preview for Tuesday: Creating and finding magical places.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 2:01 pm

    This post was definitely worth the wait you guys – I loved it! Should I be bringing back my best birds-of-paradise dress next time I go home?

    Also, I am very excited for Tuesday based on your teaser!

    -Hannah

Leave a Reply

