Skip to content

Homemade Beauty

February 7, 2012

When I was around 10 years old, I got a Klutz Natural Beauty book and spent many weekends mixing up potions for myself and whoever else would let me slather banana and honey on them.

The only time Klutz served me wrong (not just in this book but in the tens of others I owned,) was with a tip to put ½ a cup of olive oil in my hair after washing. I tried it and the next day I went to school with an oil slick on my head. That night my mom washed my hair using dish soap. Despite the embarrassment and teasing from my family, I have dabbled in homemade beauty ever since I got that book.

In the past several years, I have learned several other lessons about homemade beauty beyond the olive oil hair one. For example, homemade beauty regimens that include using a blender to mix ingredients never last for very long. The best natural beauty products are ones that you can use just like you would with store bought products, except, perhaps for a few seconds of mixing ingredients together with your fingers.

Since my new year’s resolution was to use beauty products that are better for me and the environment, this week I decided to revisit some of my old friends: olive oil and honey.

Lips: Last week, I burnt my lips on hot tea and for a few days they felt weirdly smooth and dry at the same time. A few days later, I discovered a post in my friend Jocellyn’s blog about a homemade sugar, olive oil, and honey scrub for dry lips. Perfect!

Skin: I tried a new trick yesterday, because every time I looked up honey online, this same recipe kept coming up; it’s called a honey pat and is supposed to remove dry skin. The directions said to take some honey into the bath, put some on dry skin and “pat it” until it becomes super sticky. Then rinse off. Since I don’t have a bathtub, I brought some into the shower, but I’m not sure it really worked in that environment. Also, I didn’t know “patting the honey” really meant, so I mostly just rubbed it around and then rinsed it off. I’m guessing this one works better in a bathtub, where the honey won’t get wet and rinse off so quickly.

Nails: Olive oil works as an excellent moisturizer for dry skin, but my favorite use is for my nails and cuticles. After I take off polish, my nails always feel especially dry, so I take a few drops of olive oil and rub them onto my hands and nails. Instant smoothness and hydration!

In my research for this post, I was also surprised to find that olive oil can be used as eye make up remover. Anyone tried this before?

Hair? Ever since the olive oil trick, I have been reluctant to put anything besides shampoo and conditioner in my hair. Also, I’ve noticed lately that my hair seems to look better the less I do to it. A few washes a week seems to be all I need. I’m not against natural hair treatments, though if anyone want to throw out something that works!

Have a beautiful week everyone!

Preview for Friday: Creative Dates

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel Palmateer permalink
    February 25, 2012 9:16 pm

    Beauty By Nature, by Brigitte Mars, is an excellent book for natural beauty products.

    When my hair gets dry I will use a bit of coconut oil to lock in some moisture. A day of mild greasiness is worth the nice shine after a day and a half or so. I also use coconut oil on my body in the warmer months. Nothing beats it! Except maybe sesame oil…

    Shea butter is also a divine body product. Good for dry lips, too.

    Lovely blog!

    • February 26, 2012 1:01 am

      Thanks for all the tips Rachel! I’ve never used coconut oil, but I love pretty much anything coconut-related, so I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

