Skip to content

Bar Specials Part 1: The Other Place and El Gato

March 2, 2012

All the OP specials

It’s week one of Burlington bar specials, and I must say, this is one of the best ideas I’ve ever had. First of all, I’m quickly memorizing all of the bar specials in Burlington, so I’ll never have to pay full price for a drink again. Secondly, I’ve got a legitimate excuse to invite all my friends to go out drinking with me a couple times a week. As you probably know from reading our kickoff post last Friday, Tea&Beer is covering the best bar specials in Burlington for every night of the week.

As a health and financial precaution, we have decided to spread out our “field research” over a month, so check in for more bar specials later in March. So far, we’ve visited The Other Place and El Gato Cantina, which have totally different vibes, but were both tons of fun.

The Other Place

4 N. Winooski Ave

Night: Friday
Special: $3 Heineken
Best Part: Free popcorn

The OP is a neighborhood bar that’s just far enough away from Church street to feel a little edgy without actually having to hike too far to get there. It’s small inside (although they try to trick you with mirrors everywhere,) but it’s cozy and friendly. Even on a Friday night, it was pleasantly full but not over-crowded. The bar special was $3 bottles of Heineken, but we later noticed that all beers on tap were only around 25 or 50 cents more expensive.


El Gato Cantina

169 Church Street

Night: Wednesday
Special: $5 house margarita
Best Part: The margaritas come in pint glasses
Second Best Part: Free chips and salsa

El Gato has delicious margaritas that are served in pint glasses (which is a bonus because, as Jillian noted, margarita glasses are too difficult to manage when drinking margaritas) and are made with generous amounts of tequila. Even though El Gato has a full bar, the wait staff seemed perplexed by our decision to only order drinks, but the restaurant was half full on Wednesday night, so we didn’t feel bad about taking up a table without ordering food.

So far, the best part about this experience was on Wednesday night, when I was 1.5 glasses of margarita deep and I realized I had forgotten how fun it is to go out on a week night. Drinking with your friends for a few hours and being able to forget that you have to get up in the morning and be productive is the perfect remedy for the endless work week.

Know any other great bar specials in Burlington? Tell me your favorites so I can include them on my master list later this March!

Preview for Tuesday: Planting spring seeds.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 3:23 pm

    Wouldn’t that be a dream job? Going from bar to bar examining the drinks and food closely (you’d have to have at least 3 drinks to do it properly). I do that on a regular basis. It’d be nice to get paid for it lol.

  2. March 20, 2012 2:10 am

    I love the OP. It’s a lot less “fratty” than the other bars. I feel like I can go there and not, idk, get ruffied? Since turning 21 recently, I’ve just realized my favorite go-to drink is a margarita. I think an el gato trip is in order!

    • March 20, 2012 9:18 am

      Definitely worth the trip. And perfect for the summer weather we’ve been having!

Leave a Reply

