Skip to content

Traveling Girl

July 1, 2012

Since June 1st, I have spent two weeks in Maine, one week in Vermont, one week in New York, four days in Massachusetts, and then returned to Maine (before I head off to Vermont again.) The best part of all my traveling is that I have been able to spend quality time my friends and family around the northeast. During my time on the road, I’ve had a ton of fun and adventures (including figuring out the New York City subway system,) but I’ve also learned a couple lessons on traveling.

   

Lessons learned from a month on the road: 

1. Invest in luggage that you love. Mine was a four-wheeled pink, yellow, and orange zebra-print suitcase from TJ Maxx. It has held up rolling along miles of sidewalk and clunking down flights of stairs. Plus, I always feel warm and fuzzy when I unzip it to find all of my neatly folded clothes and organized items set up in the different compartments.

2. Pack a variety of your favorite clothes and plenty of underwear. I experienced all types of weather–from torrential rain to 100 degree heat–over the past month, and for the most part I was prepared for all of it. I packed a rain jacked, my favorite skirt/shorts/jeans/dress jeans and a variety of tops, plus sneakers and sandals. The only thing I wish I had packed more of? Underwear and shirts….I went through a lot of them during the heat wave. I also packed quarters and a baggie of laundry detergent to wash clothes on the road.

3. When arriving at a destination, be upfront about what you need/want to do while there. A week seems like a long time, but it’ll fly by. I had to prioritize finishing my 40 hours of work each week, but also fun outings  like the beach, restaurants, and running a trail race in Vermont.

4. Take pleasure in the grandiose and the simple pleasures. Of course, the excitement of being in a mildly-exotic location means there will be eating out, sightseeing, and general adventuring. But some of my favorite times over the past few weeks were trips to the grocery store, watering the plants, and gossiping on the couch. Make time for the simple pleasures on long trips; it keeps the day grounded.

5. Find a home away from home away from home. Since I was staying with friends and family for a week (or more) at a time, I had to make some time to give myself (and my hosts) a break. While in Burlington, I went out for the afternoon to have my watch resized and get my nails done. When in New York, I made the Oasis Cafe my home away from home. It wasn’t a fancy or special cafe, but the drinks were cheap and it was only a couple blocks away from my sister’s apartment. During the heat wave, I made the cafe my refuge to cool off and get some work done in comfort.

See you all on the road!

-Rachel

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 8:55 pm

    i remember summer camp
    s’mores are definitely the best

  2. Meg permalink
    July 1, 2012 9:45 pm

    Yay! you ventured out and found a cafe in Brooklyn!

Leave a Reply

