Skip to content

NYC New Year: A Weekend in Photos

January 4, 2013

IMG_1191

I’ve had my fair share of lame New Year’s Eves with mom, dad, and a tv movie, but this year was not one of them. I had the pleasure of hosting three friends–Sam, Harry, and Meg–at my Brooklyn apartment. To be honest, I was a little nervous before everyone came, mostly because I was afraid of spending the whole weekend getting lost in Manhattan and secondly because I was afraid I would fail at conveying how cool my new home city is.

Sam Root Beer Float

root beer float

We started off with dinner at Seraghina–my neighborhood hipster pizza place–on Saturday night. On Sunday, we began with a brisk (I’m using this word to mean cold) walk across Brooklyn Bridge, and a wander through SoHo, TriBeCa, and Greenwich Village with frequent pop-ins to shops (like Pearl River Mart) to warm up. We also scored our first free sample of the weekend–some super spicy hot cider outside Bubby’s–before ditching half hour wait for the warmth of the great indoors at Ivy Bistro a block away. That’s where we got our next free sample–christmas cookies made by “the host’s motha”.

On Monday morning, we headed straight to Tom’s Diner in Brooklyn, which had a line out the door and around the corner. Since we were in better spirits, we stuck it out and were rewarded with orange slices, french fries, and pancakes, handed out to us by Tom’s token friendly old man (named Gus) while we waited for a table. Sam got a gorgeous root beer float which came with extra root beer on the side.

bocce ball court

bocce ball court

The most disappointing part of our trip was that the Brooklyn Botanic Garden and Brooklyn Museum were both closed on New Year’s Eve. Bummer. After strolling Brooklyn’s fifth ave and accepting our final free sample–champagne at Habit boutique–Harry suggested we enter the fray in Times Square, just to get a peek at the crazy. We took the train to Penn Station and walked 25 blocks through the midtown insanity to end at Central Park. It took quite a bit of effort to stick together, but it was fun. At the worst crowds, we had to link arms and shoulder through.

We went back to my apartment in Brooklyn to thaw out for a while before heading to Union Hall (bocce ball bar with fun music and a healthy hipsters:prepster ratio) and The Gate (standard neighborhood dive). The night ended with fireworks in Prospect Park.

I was happy that I was able to show my friends some true New York moments. I gained some confidence about my own ability to navigate New York and feel more prepared to entertain the rest of the visitors that will be arriving on my doorstep later this month!

-Rachel

(Photos, as usual, by Sam. Except the photo of Sam, which is by me, of course.)

Brooklyn Bridge

Meg being cold on the Brooklyn Bridge

panarama from brooklyn bridge

cops, crowds, and crazy light-up glasses

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    January 4, 2013 9:33 am

    What a wonderful weekend! Thanks for writing about it!

  2. January 4, 2013 11:06 am

    Sounds like a fun time!

Leave a Reply

