Skip to content

Best (and Worst) of 2012 Natural Beauty Products Resolution

January 8, 2013

beauty

Last January, I announced that my resolution for 2012 was to only buy organic or as-close-to-natural-as-possible beauty products. I had watched Annie Leonard’s “Story of Cosmetics” and gotten freaked out by the ingredients in my products. I also found EWG’s Skin Deep, which is a database that rates the safeness of beauty products. (Spoiler alert: even expensive, crunchy granola cosmetics can have bad ratings.) Throughout the year, I have been trying all sorts of new cosmetics with varying degrees of success. So this is it, my final report on the best and worst natural beauty products used by me in 2012.

Product EWG Skin Deep Hazard Rating Review
Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm Low This stuff works.
Covergirl NatureLux Mascara Moderate Best mascara I have every owned. Doesn’t smudge or give me raccoon eyes. Ever.
EOS lip balm Low Was suspicious of the egg shape, but it’s actually really fun to use. Love it.
Garnier Fructis Pure Clean Conditioner Moderate Good smell. Haven’t used it long enough to be sure how I feel about it yet.
Kiss My Face Ultra Moisterizer Moderate Nice texture. Doesn’t feel greasy.
Lush Karma Solid Perfume Moderate Like the solid perfume idea, but it smells too much like incense and general hippiness.
Nature’s Gate lotion Moderate Meh. Works fine but not my fave. I like a thicker lotion consistency.
Organix Cherry Blossom Ginseng Conditioner Moderate NO! Their brand name is misleading–it’s not an organic product. Plus, the conditioner made my hair feel heavy and a little greasy. Wouldn’t buy again.
Sparitual Nail Polish No Info Love this polish. Wish there was more color selection.
Tate’s Odorless Nail Polish Remover No Info This stuff is magical. None of the toxic waste smell of normal polish remover. Costs a small fortune though, so use sparingly.
Tresemme Naturals Shampoo Moderate Works fine, but the scent changed slightly with time. (See below.)
Yes to Carrots Shampoo Moderate Same smell problem as Tresemme, but worse. Scent reminded me of a flea collar and had to throw the rest of it away. I loved it until it started to stink.

.

I’ve definitely changed my routine in the beauty aisle this year. And although I’m not convinced that all of the products I have purchased are significantly safer than my old ones, I’m glad that as a consumer, the dollars in my beauty budget have “voted” for greener, cleaner products overall.

I hope this list helps if you chose to navigate the challenging and often deceiving terrain of natural beauty products. And if you have tried any other products that you LOVE, please tell me about them!

-Rachel

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

