Skip to content

My 6 (New) Favorite Things for Summer

May 24, 2013

I’ll admit it–I’ve been a bit spendy this spring. Usually I’m a frugal gal–not just by necessity, but by nature, but for the past six weeks or so, that has all gone out the window. I started a new job in March and for the first time in a while, could justify a few totally self-indulgent purchases. That being said, I’m still an excruciatingly careful shopper; I want my purchases to be practical, reliable, versatile, and fit with my style. Now that I’ve  tried out all my new purchases for summer, here are my six faves:

5. Brooklyn Industries black tee with detailing

Black Tee

This was a rare spur of the moment purchase for me–I bought it to get a discount on another item, but it has proved to be a valuable addition to my wardrobe. It fits loosely without being saggy–making it the perfect counterbalance to my beloved Uniqlo jeggings.

4. Knock off Keds

Blue Sneakers

They’re not name-brand sneaks, but that’s kind of why I love them. Two weeks ago, I was eating a bagel in Central Park and a huge blob of onion chive cream cheese fell on the ground. Ten minutes later, I stepped in that blob of cream cheese, but did I care? Nope. In $15 sneaks, my failures of observation are a lot less upsetting.

3. Galaxy S3 wallet case

S3 Wallet

Summertime is about traveling light. Anytime I can ditch a backpack–or better yet–the whole purse, I’m happy to do so. This wallet means I’m less likely to lose my phone, debit card, metro card, and ID this summer (or at least, if I do lose them, it’ll be all at once, which makes things that much more fun, right?)

2. Target fusha tank

Racerback Tank

Another cheapie purchase that I plan to get my money’s worth of this season. I love the color and the racerback style; I usually throw it on over one of my neon sports bras (also from Target) and am GTG.

2. Dansko Thea sandalish shoes

Dansko Thea

It’s a work shoe!… It’s a party shoe!… No–it’s a surprisingly comfortable walking shoe! I’ve wasn’t a Dansko girl until earlier this week, but consider me fully converted. They were pricey, but are one of the most versatile pairs of shoes I’ve ever owned. If you’re going to spend the money, get them in a neutral color and wear them everywhere.

1. Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5

Matt & Kim

Aside from the fact that I still need to learn how to use most of its features, I. Love. This. Camera. It’s compact enough to carry around comfortably (like to this Matt & Kim concert) but still takes stunning photos. I’m sure they’ll be even more stunning once I get a grip on what all the buttons do.

-Rachel

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2013 9:09 am

    Awesome! Glad to see all these super-cool purchases. You’ve been working like a fiend and deserve some fun. I especially like the sneaks, wallet, and camera! 🙂

Leave a Reply

